• Slider 3
  • Slider 2
  • Slider 1

Programme

Dates of the meeting: September 8th & 9th 2021

Live Programme (4 hours each day for 2 days):

  • 80 min Talk session (each talk 15+5 mins)
  • 10 min Break
  • 60 min Round-table discussions/Networking
  • 10 min Break
  • 80 min Talk session

Start and end times:

  • 6:00 AM-10:00AM San Francisco,
  • 9:00AM-1:00PM New York,
  • 2:00-6:00PM London,
  • 3:00-7:00 PM Berlin,
  • 6:30 PM-10:30PM Mumbai,
  • 10:00PM-2:00AM Tokyo,
  • 11:00PM-3:00AM Sydney (note end times in Tokyo and Sydney are +1 day)

Talks:

All talks will be selected from abstracts. Four talks per session (each is 15 mins + 5 mins for questions).  All talks will be hosted live via Zoom Webinar.

Posters Sessions:

Poster presenters will submit a pdf poster and a 5-minute video presentation.  Attendees will watch at their leisure and contact the presenter via email or a Slack channel.  Participants will be able to contact poster presenter directly and set up a time to talk one-on-one.

Round-table discussions:

Round table discussions present an opportunity for meeting attendees to interact with junior and senior group leaders in the cytoplasmic and axonemal dynein fields (see list below). These sessions will be limited to small groups to facilitate connections with the designated table leader. Each covers a distinct theme, ranging from active research questions to career topics, but leaders and participants are encouraged to allow the discussion to develop organically in any interesting direction they choose. The round tables are particularly encouraged for junior scientists as an opportunity to meet and discuss relevant topics of interest for their future careers. When you register please select all those round tables you would be interested in attending.  Slots will be filled on a first come, first serve basis.

Roop MallikDynein Biophysics
Ron ValeCareer as an Academic Scientist
Erika HolzbaurCytoplasmic Dynein in Disease
Sam Reck-PetersonCareer as an Academic Scientist
Thomas SurreyIn Vitro Reconstitution 
Ken’ya FurutaEngineering Dyneins
Morgan DeSantisDynein Regulation
Tomomi KiyomitsuDynein in Mitosis
Vaishnavi Ananthanarayanan Single Molecule Studies of Dynein
Susan DutcherPreassembly of Axonemal Dyneins
Guangshuo OuIFT Dynein in C. elegans
John WallingfordAxonemal Dynein Assembly
Gaia PiginoStructural Biology of IFT
Alan Brown and Rui Zhang Structural Biology of Axonemes
Miriam SchmidtsGenetics of Human Ciliary Dynein Diseases
Joe HowardMechanisms of ciliary beating

Networking

Those not attending a round table are welcome to join a virtual “coffee” room which will allow informal discussions.

Gibbons Award

The Ian and Barbara Gibbons Award

Scope: The award is for a published piece of work by a junior researcher or researchers that has made a significant impact in the dynein field since the last International Workshop.

Eligibility: Any current PhD student, postdoc or junior faculty (defined as pre-tenure or within 5 years of starting their lab) who has published a first author paper in the dynein field since the last dynein meeting in 2017.  Junior faculty who have made a major experimental contribution to a paper on which they are corresponding author are also eligible. 

Application: Candidates need to register for the meeting. They will be asked to write a short (max 500 word) justification listing the relevant paper, explaining the work’s impact and their contribution. The deadline for applications is July 1st 2021.

Many papers are the result of collaborations between multiple authors.  We encourage applications that recognise this.  Either all relevant authors can apply separately and cross reference each other’s applications.  Alternatively, one author can apply, list all those who should be considered and their contributions.

Selection: All applications will be considered by the Organizing Committee. The awardee(s) will be selected based on the work considered to have made the greatest contribution to the dynein field since the last dynein international workshop. The Committee will consider the impact of the work and the contribution of the authors. Senior authors may be contacted to clarify the role played by the candidates.

Committee

Acknowledgements

  • Cytoskeleton Inc
  • MRC Lab of Molecular Biology
  • University of California Davis
  • The Gibbons Family

Contact

The Conference will be online, hosted by the MRC LMB, Cambridge, UK

Any questions please contact Andrew Carter (MRC LMB) or Richard McKenney (UC Davis)